FAQ

What is genetic testing?

Genetic testing involves carrying out a range of tests on DNA samples extracted from blood, saliva and other tissues. The DNA sample is then sent to the laboratory where scientists look for specific changes in the DNA. Genetic testing is an incredibly useful tool for identifying changes or mutations that could lead to genetic disease.The results of a genetic test can confirm or rule out a suspected genetic condition or help determine a person's chance of developing or passing on a genetic disorder. Genetic testing allows us to be aware of certain health risks, make long-term beneficial health decisions but ultimately, encourage us to adopt a healthier and more balanced lifestyle.

 

 

 

What is a gene?

A gene is the basic physical and functional unit of heredity. Genes, which are made up of DNA, act as instructions to make molecules called proteins. The Human Genome Project has estimated that humans have between 20,000 and 25,000 genes.

If you have done a physical examination, do you need to do genetic testing?

Yes, you need to. Physical examination and genetic testing are entirely different. A physical examination is solely for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment, detecting the presence of a disease after it has occurred. Genetic testing is able to assess a person's susceptibility to a disease before it has occurred and helps identify the condition that is likely to arise in the future. A genetic test is aimed at prevention against a specific disease or many diseases so that people can take steps to prevent or reduce risk.It is not uncommon that by the time a person is diagnosed with a certain disease, the detection result suggests a more severe case, especially in cancer. Genetic testing helps people discover genes that contribute to a disease or susceptibility genes early so that people can take measures to prevent the diseases by inhibiting the expression of those susceptibility genes. At the same time, genetic testing offers guidance to avoid potential health problems. Don't wait until it is too late. Health is wealth because if you are not careful enough, more money will be spent on your health. It's better to think ahead and take a genetic test.

 

What is a genome?

A genome is an organism's complete set of DNA, including all of its genes. Each genome contains all of the information needed to build and maintain that organism. In humans, a copy of the entire genome is contained in all cells that have a nucleus. Each person inherits a copy of genomic DNA from each parent.

Go Top

常見問題

基因檢測是什麼

基因檢測,就是取被檢測者的口腔細胞,經提取和擴增其基因資訊後,通過精標準的測序方法,對被檢測者細胞的 DNA 分子的基因資訊進行檢測,分析他所含有的各種疾病易感基因,使人們能及時瞭解自己的基因資訊,預測身體患病的風險,從而有針對性地主動改變自己的生活環境和生活習慣,預防和避免重大疾病的發生。基因檢測如同一本個人健康的說明書,它告訴我們生命該如何正確使用。

基因是什麼?

基因是 DNA 分子鏈上攜帶遺傳資訊密碼的功能片段。是我們生命的密碼和程式,使我們生命的圖紙,來調控我們的生命,它包含有製造蛋白質的指令。

如果已經做了正常的體檢,還需要做基因檢測嗎?

需要。因為正常體檢是普通體檢,和基因檢測是兩個概念。普通體檢檢查的是病患,是已經發生的疾病; 基因檢測檢查的是疾病隱患,是可能或未來將要發生的疾病。普通體檢的目的是為了診斷和治療;基因檢測的目的是為了有針對性的預防,讓原本將要發生的疾病不發生或晚發生。如果提早進行基因檢測,就能及時發現疾病易感基因,採取措施控制和預防這些疾病易感基因,不讓它們表達,疾病不會發生。如果沒有提早進行基因檢測,普通體檢時,疾病一旦查出來,有的就已經很嚴重了。尤其是癌症,一旦查實了,結果就是:晚了!而提早進行基因檢測,就能有針對性地進行預防,避免這種惡果。

什麼是基因組?

每個人類體細胞核黃素中均包含分別來自父體和母體的兩套染色體,基因組就是每一套染色體上的全部基因。基因組包括有機體的全部遺傳特徵。

Go Top